Appreciation

Although I am a broke college student, I have 3 younger brothers and sisters I have to buy presents for. Unfortunately, my younger siblings are incredibly whiny and snobby. My little brother buys T-shirts for 30 dollars each. Mind you, they look like plain white t-shirts with a small brand-name on it. If i dared buy him a T-shirt that’s not brand name, he would probably throw it away because its not “nice” enough for his reputation. My sister just got a nice laptop (not for Christmas) and when she got a desk to go along with it, she complained and said it was the wrong color for her room. My other younger sister complained because I told her I will buy her an expensive Starbucks drink, but I couldn’t afford to buy her an pastry. So I bought her a cookie and a drink, and didn’t get anything for myself.

So as I was leaving the library, I spotted this Christmas tree with these angel cutouts on it. I picked up an angel out of curiosity. The angels were made by kids in foster care, and they write their Christmas “wishes” on it. The angel I had was written by a 9 year old girl who wished for “world peace” and two barbies to play with. My youngest sister is near her age (11). She doesn’t wish for a 15 dollar barbie. She got mad at me yesterday because I tried to give her my used Acer laptop instead of a Macbook that my brother gave me. Let me remind you, shes 11. And right now, she has a Macbook, while I have the Acer.

Oddly enough, the angel got me mad. Like, I was so pissed off. My bratty siblings whine about the presents I give them already. Why should I waste time and energy buying them presents they don’t like because its not “expensive” enough for them? I stress out so much because I don’t have enough money to appeal to their taste. All I want is for them to enjoy Christmas, and be happy I even tried to find them gifts I personally picked out for each of them. I don’t ask for nothing in return, just a simple “thank you”. This little girl, only wants 2 barbies and world peace. If i got her two barbies, she will be so happy and excited because her wish was fulfilled.

So you know what? Tomorrow i’m going to Walmart and buying her barbies. I’m down to the last dollars on my bankcard, but i’m not wasting another dime on kids who will just be ungrateful. I already finished their shopping, and if they want to complain about my gifts, so what? I really did try to be a good sister. Heck, i’m even considering donating their gifts I bought to Sleep Train ,since its not “good” enough for them.

Sorry for the rant. I just want everyone to be grateful, and enjoy their gifts. Christmas became something different in modern years. When I was little, I got basically nothing. My mom doesn’t understand Christmas, and she’s actually pretty selfish herself. It was rare for me to even have presents to open on Christmas. These bratty kids want all these expensive designer things nowadays, and they are lucky us older kids are there to even wrap them stuff under the tree.

This year, please donate to the kids in need. I read other angels, and they ask for things that are very simple to get. (barbies, electric cars, toy trains, scooters, bikes etc.)

Happy holidays!

 

2 thoughts on “Appreciation

  1. Mandy says:

    Hi girl! I really love how passionate you are when you’re writing about this subject. I really hope this isn’t your last post because this is the first post I’ve read of yours and to be truthful it is brilliant! You strongly state yourself and I get really into it. Btw, you are such a great sister and happy holidays!

    XoXo

    Like

  2. It’s great that you understand the true , unselfish meaning of the “Christmas Spirit” and holiday – it’s not the gift that counts, it’s the thought. Cut your siblings a little slack, though. Maybe you can teach them the meaning of the spirit over these and future holidays. Your gift in return will be to see them embody the giving spirit as you have. Thanks for sharing and thanks for getting the Barbies. Peace and blessings -Bill M

    Like

Leave a Reply

