The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

santa-book-graphicsfairy004rd2“Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful.”
-Norman Vincent Peale

Now that the most American holiday has passed (let’s eat till we don’t fit in our pants and then fight!), we can move on to my favorite time.  I’m a Christmas nut, an apologetic lover of the season and everything that comes along with it.  Today I’d like to share some of my favorite traditions that make the season so special.

Trimming the Tree

I grew up decorating the tree first at my Mom’s house, then at my Dad’s.  To me it signals the start of the season and is the best way to get in the mood.  Put on John Denver and the Muppets or Bob Segar’s Little Drummer Boy and go to town.  From the skirt at the base to the debate of whether to add tinsel to the moment it all comes together when Dad places the angel, it’s just perfect.

The San Francisco Dickens Faire

This is a fairly new one for our family.  Out at the Cow Palace in San Francisco, we take a trip to Merry Olde England to celebrate Charles Dickens, Queen Victoria, Old Fezziwig’s Barn Dance, and Mad Sal’s Dockside Alehouse.  The whole building is transformed into the wintery streets of england and we put on costumes and transform with it.  I’ve learned to waltz and been a member of The London Corset Watching club.  It’s a fun experience for the whole family (unless you’re visiting the Naughty French Postcard Revue) in which case leave the little ones at home.

Christmas Movies

The Grinch that Stole Christmas, a Charlie Brown Christmas, Scrooge, Scrooged, a Christmas Carol, A Christmas Story, Lethal Weapon, Die Hard (my family regards these two as the ultimate Christmas movies), White Christmas, and of course It’s a Wonderful Life.  Christmas is a season when I can OD on my favorites every year and never get tired of them.  And if I pop on Lethal Weapon and lie down in front of the fire with my head pillowed on my golden retriever, I’m a kid again.

Christmas Eve/Day

Christmas Eve seems like one tradition after another to me.  Chicken Sausage and Potatoes for dinner.  My dad reading The Night Before Christmas to me with his head pillowed on my teddy bear (I do the exact same thing with my daughter every year now). A hot toddy.  Seeing all the people I love.  It really is the best of times.  Enjoy everybody! I know I will!

-JK


This blog is a collaborative outlet for a group of Creative Writing Students. We take turns posting one day a week to share our favorite “wins” in our lives. I’m JK and mondays are mine. Anything I post will be signed -JK. If you want to read more of my posts, they are tagged JK as well. Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “The Most Wonderful Time of the Year

  1. JK, my memories aren’t exactly in the same vein, but warm nonetheless. Memories of picking a tree with my mom and sis every Christmas Eve (with snow if we were lucky!), decorating it that night and falling asleep exhausted after a cup of Mom’s hot chocolate just before midnight!. We still managed to awaken before 5 a.m to take in the awe and beauty of the lights and glitter of the tree and the mystery of all the beautifully wrapped presents “Santa” left us. Oh, yeah, and I did watch “It’s a Wonderful Life” nearly every Christmas (still do – thanks Jimmy Stewart).What wonderful times!

    Like

Leave a Reply

