The Right Tool for the Job

Hammer“He who works with his hands is a laborer.
He who works with his hands and his head is a craftsman.
He who works with his hands and his head and his heart is an artist.”
-Francis of Assisi

Its hard to believe this class is almost coming to an end, it’s been three months and more writing then I ever expected to do when I signed up.  I’ve been saving this blog post for toward the end so I can also showcase one of my other projects over the past several months.  It’s a bit off topic from my usual stuff, but then again I do have other interests besides reading and writing.

When my wife and I bought our house, we also bought a very cheap little patio table for $30 from someone on Craigslist.  It was never meant to be more than a temporary solution while we looked for someone we really liked.  I’ve always been partial to nice wooden patio sets.

Fast forward 6 years to us sitting around the same plastic topped table and I decided to take things into my own hands.  I surfed around, found some ideas I liked, created some plans and bought all of this:Wood Pile (1 of 1)

I then spent the past three months building a beautiful solid wood 8 by 4 foot table.  It seats twelve and has built in ice buckets for chilling our drinks on those hot summer evenings.  Now it looks like this:

Table-ConstructionIt’s an absolute behemoth, and it has some flaws that come from being homemade, but I’m incredibly proud of having built it, sanded it, stained it, and sealed it with my own two hands.  I feel a sense of accomplishment from creating something new and knowing that I’ve provided a place for my family and friends to gather and share time together.

Some of this post is pure bragging, but there is also a deeper purpose behind it.  It’s a reminder that one should never stop learning, never stop trying new things and never ever stop challenging yourself.  When something interests you, try it, you’ve got nothing to lose.  Even if it isn’t successful you’ll learn from it.  You might only learn that that you really hate doing it, but that’s something.

Plus you’ll get to go to the hardware store and buy yourself some new toy- I mean tools.  And your wife will be okay with it because it’s for the family after all…

See you all next week as things wind down!

-JK

PS. Your wife may not be okay with it, if you get in trouble, don’t blame it on me.


This blog is a collaborative outlet for a group of Creative Writing Students. We take turns posting one day a week to share our favorite “wins” in our lives. I’m JK and mondays are mine. Anything I post will be signed -JK. If you want to read more of my posts, they are tagged JK as well. Thanks for reading!

3 thoughts on “The Right Tool for the Job

Leave a Reply

