Creativity in a Bottle

Poetry is Hard

“Sometimes I write drunk and revise sober, and sometimes I write sober and revise drunk”
-Peter De Vries

Let me start off by saying, I’m not an alcoholic.  Which is likely what an alcoholic would say, but none the less my statement stands.  What I have found is that when I’ve hit a spot of writers block, there’s nothing to grease the wheels in my think box like a nice glass of wine.  Which I clearly have not had any of since I just used the words think box in a sentence.

I don’t believe I’ve ever had a much of a problem until I started this blog assignment.  A problem with writers block that is, wine a solution, not a problem.  Over the course of our class I’ve enjoyed stretching things creatively with the many narrative stories assigned to us.  I’ve been surprised by my capacity to enjoy poetry, something I previously considered the domain of prancing poofs in tights and large ruffled collars.

shakespeare
No offense intended Willie Shakes, you’re still my boy!

But blogging… blogging just doesn’t get my creativity flowing. Every week it’s been a chore to come up with something interesting to say.  So when my wife asked if I wanted some wine tonight, my response was automatic “Sure, I have a blog post to write after all!”

So here I sit, I’ve pretty much rambled my way through a post without saying much of anything.  Also I’ve made Shakespeare look fabulous which is a really weird turn and a bit awkward.

Stupid wine! You’re supposed to be more helpful!

Alright, I’ve spent enough time complaining about writing that I think I now qualify as an actual writer.  So I can share something that’s actually important to me.  I got something out of this class that I actually didn’t expect.  An idea for a real novel.

Over the course of several assignments I created a character named Penelope Anne Elizabeth Doolittle.  She’s a somewhat flighty Victorian-era lady of class.  She’s in love with the son of a baron who turns out to be a wretched example of humanity only using her for her money.  And to my surprise she ended up being accused of unladylike behavior and murder.  And yes, those are two separate things in high society.  So we’ll see where this goes, I have a full plot outline and some fun ideas, maybe I’ll actually churn this one out.

Wish me luck, or better yet, buy my book someday!

-JK


This blog is a collaborative outlet for a group of Creative Writing Students. We take turns posting one day a week to share our favorite “wins” in our lives. I’m JK and mondays are mine. Anything I post will be signed -JK. If you want to read more of my posts, they are tagged JK as well. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

