Thanks Past Me!

 

bestshortstorywriter4“A short story must have a single mood and every sentence must build towards it.”

-Edgar Allen Poe

It is a universal truth that some point in our lives, we’ve all said the words “That sounds more like future me’s problem.” It is an equally universal truth that at some point in our lives we’ve yelled “Damnit past me! You’re an asshole!”

This week I had rare cause to say “Thanks past me, you’re a pip.”  For once, past me was very helpful and did my homework before it was even assigned.  The assignment: to set yourself an artificial limit for the week and stick to it.

Flash back to two months ago when I responded to a random writing prompt with the goal of brevity.  The challenge was to write the following concept in as few words as possible.   Most of the respondents wrote something inspirational or romantic. I wanted to take things in an unexpected direction.  So I set 2 goals: it needs to be creepy and it has to be exactly 50 words.  Hopefully I succeeded, but you get to be the judge.

“You are walking down the street and find a note with life changing words written in it.”


Photo Nov 03, 5 05 58 PM

I bent down and snatched the crumpled paper from the sidewalk. It read “Please help. I’ve been kidnapped. His name is Mister Carmichael. He works at my school.”

I glanced back at the newly locked window above me before crumpling the trash into my pocket. Mustn’t be late for school.

-JK


This blog is a collaborative outlet for a group of Creative Writing Students. We take turns posting one day a week to share our favorite “wins” in our lives. I’m JK and mondays are mine. Anything I post will be signed -JK. If you want to read more of my posts, they are tagged JK as well. Thanks for reading!

You might also be interested in checking out some fellow student’s blog at http://quotewriteinspire.wordpress.com/.  They find a quote each week and talk about what it inspires in them.

2 thoughts on “Thanks Past Me!

  1. You just LEFT HIM? Or did you? Or was it a prank? Or was it a lure to get you up to the room?
    I want to know, but I don’t…
    Great job of both beginning and ending!
    Thanks for sharing,
    Savannah Smiles

    Like

Leave a Reply

