Bill’s Saturday Musings and Observations

Happy Saturday everyone!

I had a great life win this week. My Sweetie and I traveled to Mendocino for four days for a late 25th wedding anniversary getaway. To call it a scenic trip is an understatement. Highway 128 curved through beautiful farms and vineyards, snaked around beautiful redwood pillars and opened to an expansive vista of the North Pacific coastline. Even with waves thundering against high cliffs in the bright afternoon sun as we entered the village of Mendocino, it was a calming experience. The village is laid back with a 1940ish façade and populated with folks with a laid back sixties and seventies sensibility. No packs of pedestrians walking the streets unconsciously while texting, no overly loud cellphone conversations interrupting dinners. Just people walking and talking WITH one another, not just AT one another. It was the most picture-perfect, relaxing vacation we’ve had in years and we promised each other we’d do it again next year. Here are bits and pieces of some of the scenery:

redwoods-road

MendocinoVillage1

From the Flow

Speaking of life wins, I hope you all will take the time to vote, Tuesday, November 4, if you haven’t already cast your absentee ballot. Having your say in the way we run our government – no matter how fruitless the effort may be – is one of the ultimate life wins that we all can have. One of my pet peeves is to hear someone complain about how are city/county/state/country is run, only to find out the idiot didn’t even take the time to register and vote. Personally, I know too many people who sacrificed for my right to cast a ballot for me to throw away the opportunity. And I get angry every time I see what Republicans in many states in this country are doing to turn back the clock and deny voting rights to those who do want to vote. Don’t be passive namby-pamby. Don’t be a non-committal wuss. VOTE November 4!

Well, guess you know how I feel about that subject. Don’t forget to check out my brother/sister bloggers here at life wins. I think you’ll find Miss Thursday’s internet dating experience intriguing  (and it sounds like this is just the first installment), and JK’s piece on “Inexpressibles and Other Types of Victorian Shame” will bring a smile to your face.

Have a great week. May yours be filled with “life wins.”

Bill M 

This blog is a collaborative outlet for English 400 Creative Writing students. Each member of our group posts one day a week to share the favorite “life wins” we experience. I’m Bill M, the Saturday “post-man.” I hope you enjoy my musings and feel free to comment on them. I look forward to hearing and learning from you.

 

Leave a Reply

