A Sweet Old Man

This past Tuesday was NOT the day for me. I had a 7 hour schoolday, plus I had to get home to feed my dog, go to my sisters house, help her make decorations for her party, study for a midterm etc. All I wanted to do was sink into my bed with some hot chocolate and watch Friends.

I was totally on the brink of tears when I was leaving school. I just felt so frustrated and moody. I was tired, cranky, feeling down about myself. I went off my diet plan and divulged in a double cheeseburger, which made me feel bloated and lethargic. I’m pretty sure I have some form of Seasonal Affective Disorder (SAD) which is this type of depression that comes when the weather gets colder.

As I was walking, this elderly man in a hat i could only describe as a beret dropped his manila folder and his papers scattered everywhere. He was right in front of me, so I stooped down to help him gather everything up. As I straightened up to hand him back his papers, he looked right into my miserable face and said “Thank you for helping me, you’re a pretty young lady” in my native language, Vietnamese. He wore the sweetest smile on his face as he said that.

It was so considerate for him to say that to me. Honestly, I was acting surly, but he saw past that ugly attitude of mine and actually acknowledge my good side.

I don’t know this mans story. I don’t know who he is, or what he’s about. Yet he took the time to give me a compliment on a terrible day. And it truly did make the sun shine through the clouds for me.

Next time i’m having a bad day, ill think of that little old man. I am not a miserable grouchy person, and I should start appreciating little things even more.

-Tina P

 

Leave a Reply

