Time Passes, Things Change, Friends Stick Around

Friends-over-Time

“Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art…It has no survival value; rather is one of those things that give value to survival.”

– C. S. Lewis

This past weekend I took a trip to to Tahoe with a group of friends I’ve known for a long time, 20 years in at least one case.  It’s a tradition to spend a weekend in a cabin playing games and finding mischief.  It’s been two years since our last trip, but the cabin greeted us with the same old familiar sights and smells.  And temperature, let us not forget the unexpressed joy of sitting on a toilet seat in a 40 degree room while you wish desperately for the heater to do its job.  That’s a sensory experience for you.

The funny thing is how much has changed and how much has stayed the same.  The same group of people tossing back chocolate cake shots in the first picture are standing in front of the gondolas at Heavenly Village after tossing back gourmet coffee.  We’re a little older, probably not much wiser, and a lot less hung over.

After all these years and all these vacations, I don’t feel like I’ve aged that much.  Sure we took one shot of vodka instead of 20, and we woke up at 8am instead of 2pm, but we’re still the same people.  Sometimes we’re even having the same conversation.

It’s good to know  that the years may pass and my drivers license may say I’ve grown up, but as long as my friends are by my side I’ll always be young and ready for a road trip.

-JK


This blog is a collaborative outlet for a group of Creative Writing Students. We take turns posting one day a week to share our favorite “wins” in our lives. I’m JK and mondays are mine. Anything I post will be signed -JK. If you want to read more of my posts, they are tagged JK as well. Thanks for reading!


3 thoughts on “Time Passes, Things Change, Friends Stick Around

  1. I think one of the greatest parts of your post is your tags. Life wins, aging, drinking, friends. That initself tells you that life wins for sure! So excited for you that friends stuck around so long! I heard once that if you can count all of your good friends on one hand, you are doing good!
    Thank for sharing!
    Savannah Smiles

    Like

  2. It is so good to have some good friends. Friends can affect you and you can also affect your friends. I also write a article which talks about how your atmosphere of friend circle influence your behavior and thoughts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

