Grownup Books Need Love Too!

Literary TraumaLove of reading may begin as a child, but as an adult it blossoms into full blown addiction. And like any real addiction, those who suffer from it have little interest in recovery.

Last week I wrote about buying new books for my daughter. This week I was inspired by the conclusion of a series I’ve been reading for almost ten years, the Percy Jackson books. There is little in this world that provides such a feeling of exhilaration and a mirrored sense of sadness as the completion of a long running series.  I’ll miss the people and stories in the book and in this case wish it had ended better, but oh how wonderful it is to finish good books.  I can’t even touch another work of fiction for at least a day or two because I’d still be in the demigod universe.

In honor of that, I present five book series for grownups that can be enjoyed over and over again.

5

The October Daye novels by Seanan McGuire
This series is fairly new to my bookshelves. One of the covers caught my eye in a store one day and then I figured out how much of the story is set just a couple blocks from the townhouse I grew up in. It’s urban fantasy with a world of fairies and halflings. Mysteries to puzzle over and murders to solve. It starts out a little rough, but once the murder mystery in Fremont got its claws into me I was hooked.

October Daye

4

The Posleen Invasion books by John Ringon24351
These are part of a larger science fiction series called The Legacy of the Aldenata. My father was a huge fan of military sci-fi, and this series was one he got me started on. It’s set on modern day earth just before we’re invaded by a ravenous horde of man eating aliens that move through the galaxy like warring locusts. It has powered mech suits, ginormous tanks, and political intrigue. Great stuff.

3

The Dragonriders of Pern by Anne McCaffrey
My first adult book ever! Again recommended to me by my dad, I’m sensing a definite trend here. Though I don’t read them as often as the others on this list, these books will always hold a special place in my heart. They are sort of sci-fi, sort of fantasy. It’s set on another planet where people bond with dragons for life. They become telepathic companions for life and fight against a worldwide menace that will end all things. Admittedly it sounds ridiculous if you’ve never read them, but its a wonderful introduction to the sci-fi fantasy world. It also helped me to make large numbers of friends online when I was a teenager before making friends online was a normal thing. Take that as you will.

Dragonriders of Pern

2

KushielKushiel’s Legacy by Jacqueline Carey
When asked for a book recommendation, this six book series is the first one that always jumps to mind. It’s an alternate history world set somewhere between 1000 and 1200AD in France. The lead character is a courtesan cursed by the gods to find pleasure in pain. The series features worldbuilding on a scale that puts George R. R. Martin to shame, sex that makes Anne Rice blush (E. L. James wouldn’t blush, but she’d probably be confused by the plethora of words used), and political intrigue to rival Tom Clancy. (that last one might be an exaggeration). The books themselves are massive, but if you’re at all shy about sex then it’s NOT for you. Also there’s this whole alternate Christian theology going on, but don’t let that scare you. If neither of those are a deterrent then please dig in to this delectable treat!

1

DresdenThe Dresden Files by Jim Butcher
Kushiel and Dresden had to duke it out for first place here, but then Harry shot a blast of fire while shouting “Fuego!” and Kushiel went down for the count. Dresden is what happens when Sam Spade meets Harry Potter. He’s a hard-bitten detective and the world’s only wizard that advertises in the yellow pages. Mr. Butcher’s first couple books are good, but not spectacular. I almost quit reading them, but after number two they kick into high gear and just get better and better. I do not know of a single author that can write a climatic battle better than this. A note of caution, if you are reading these books, do not ever start the last quarter of the book later than 9 at night. You will not put it down. You will not sleep. You will want, know need to know what happens next.

Honorable Mention: Harry Potter

Everyone’s favorite boy wizard has a place on my shelf and I reread the series every couple years.  That being said, the stories at least started out directed at kids and this list is all about grown up books.  Better luck next year Harry.

-JK


This blog is a collaborative outlet for a group of Creative Writing Students. We take turns posting one day a week to share our favorite “wins” in our lives. I’m JK and mondays are mine. Anything I post will be signed -JK. If you want to read more of my posts, they are tagged JK as well. Thanks for reading!


One thought on “Grownup Books Need Love Too!

Leave a Reply

