Bill’s Saturday Musings & Observations

Good Saturday to you, sports fans!

A nice sports win for me this week. My hometown St. Louis Cardinals edged the L.A. Dodgers in the first game of their matchup in baseball’s National League Division Series last night. I have to admit, I don’t watch much baseball ­– I’m more of a hoops junkie – but I do love my Redbirds and I watch them when I can, especially during the playoffs. St. Louis is a HUGE baseball town and our fans are loyal, even when we’re spread across the country! I’m rooting for them to win this series and face the Giants again (like last season), with a different result this time – the Cards winning.

A couple of wins this morning, on a family note. My son’s oldest daughter, Kaitlin, turns 18 today! And what is she doing to celebrate? She starts her first job this evening at a local restaurant. Cake and ice cream to be served tomorrow. It’s also my sister’s birthday, but we won’t say how much younger she’s going to be today. 🙂

But my really big (and best) life win of the week was a phone call from one of my cousin in New York (The City; the REAL one, San Francisco!). She told me that she and my 93-year-old Uncle Henry are flying to Sacramento in November for a surprise 90th birthday celebration for my Mom, his kid sister! They also have an 87-year-younger brother, Uncle David, but he won’t be able to make it here from New Orleans. These three are the last of a brood of 11 born in Baton Rouge, Louisiana during the Great Depression. They are not only long-lived (my older Uncle David passed away a year-and-a-half ago at 93) they’re vibrant! Mom and Uncle Henry are both cancer survivors – Uncle H. just finished chemo a few months ago and is slowly regaining his strength – and they both are active in their communities and church and travel when they want, which is fairly often. Do we have good genes, or what? Here’s a shot of Mom and here husband Marion (two years younger – I told Mom she’s a “cougar”) in Las Vegas just after her 88th birthday):

Mom and Marion In Las Vegas 2012

We’re flying Mom and her Marion out here for her birthday week and she thinks it’s just to take them sight seeing in the Bay Area and Reno/Tahoe (Mom loves the slots), and to a quiet birthday dinner here as part of the package. But that birthday dinner won’t be so quiet with family coming in from New Orleans, Los Angeles, New York and Atlanta to join my wife, my kids and me in a big surprise (we hope) dinner and jazz set at Mama Kim Eats! I get more excited as the day draws nearer; it should be a lot fun.

No links today, but I leave you with this quote:

“A family with an old person has a living treasure of gold.” — Chinese Proverb

May your family unit, whoever it consists of, bring you happiness and strength and may it have at least one living treasure within its folds.

Peace,

Bill M.

Leave a Reply

