Learning to Love Poetry

Willie Shakes

“Gym, Tan, Laundry, Sonnet. GTLS Baby!”
-Willie Shakes

What do William Shakespeare and Snookie have in common?  They both express themselves in ways the rest of us don’t quite understand.

Morning Folks, it’s JK on a Monday! Poetry has never been my thing.  I don’t write it.  I don’t read it.  When it’s in a novel I’m reading, I skip it.  It was the one thing I was dreading when I signed up for a creative writing class.  To my surprise, poetry is so much more fun when you can relax and let it flow with a little humor.  I’ve got three poems under my belt and each one presented a unique and fun challenge.

The first compared Alexander the Great to Teddy Roosevelt to a frat boy. Last week’s was 88 lines about 44 Disney movies (I loved that one, I’m such a Disney Geek). This week was a Found Poem.  A poem created by using text found elsewhere and reorganizing it into a meaningful form.

I chose to combine the Immortal Bard with The Situation.  Normally I don’t plan to share my assignments here, but I was so proud of how it came together that I just have to.

A Tempestuous Shore

No sooner met but they looked
No sooner looked but they loved
No sooner loved but they sighed1
They don’t really talk to each other
They more or less grunt9
It is my soul that calls upon my name2
Let’s put sexy clothes on
And fuck like dumbasses9

Love, therefore, and tongue-tied simplicity
In least speak most, to my capacity3
I’m not trashy unless I drink too much9
See, how she leans her cheek upon her hand
O, that I were a glove upon that hand
That I might touch that cheek4
Her arms are like tyrannosaurus rex arms
She can’t even get a full reach.9

The noblest hateful love that e’er I heard of5
So I’m mad at you for being mad at me
For no reason
So try and talk to me.9
Think him a great way fool
Solely a coward6
Guys are douchebags and
I hate them all9

You would for paradise break faith and troth
And Jove, for your love, would infringe an oath7
I know I’m not the brightest crayon box9
The common curse of mankind
Folly and ignorance
Be thine in great revenue8
The party’s over
What am I gonna do with my life now?9

I’ve always loved Shakespeare, ever since I was a kid.  My grandfather was a theater teacher and very active in the local community so that it was pretty much a foregone conclusion that I’d love Shakespeare’s work.  Jersey Shore, on the other hand, is just awful.  I can’t stand it.

Who knew the two could work together so well? Who knew I could write poetry and enjoy it?  I love discovering new things.  Learning new things are what makes life worth living.

Time to GTLS, I’m out!

-JK


This blog is a collaborative outlet for a group of Creative Writing Students. We take turns posting one day a week to share our favorite “wins” in our lives. I’m JK and mondays are mine. Anything I post will be signed -JK. If you want to read more of my posts, they are tagged JK as well. Thanks for reading!


1.    William Shakespeare – As You Like It (5.2.31-33)
2.    William Shakespeare – Romeo and Julie (2.2.167)
3.    William Shakespeare – A Midsummer Night’s Dream (5.1.98)
4.    William Shakespeare – Romeo and Julie (2.2.25-26)
5.    William Shakespeare – Troilus and Cressida (4.1.35)
6.    William Shakespeare – All’s Well that Ends Well (1.1.106)
7.    William Shakespeare – Love’s Labours Lost (4.3.142)
8.    William Shakespeare – Troilus and Cressida (2.3.6)
9.    The Jersey Shore. N.d. Television.
10 thoughts on “Learning to Love Poetry

  1. Good stuff, JK. I’ve never watched “Jersey Shore” but Snookie’s reputation precedes her (name a media outlet of any type and you’ve heard about her). Pulling these two together makes me want to read more Shakespeare. I’ve liked only a few of his works in the past, mostly in performance, seldom in reading, but i’m going to have give him another try. Besides, i’ve got a volume of The Complete Works of William Shakespeare” (a.k.a., Billy Shakes’ Greatest Hits) gathering dust on my bookshelf. Kudos.

    Like

    • My wife used to watch it and I’d just groan when she turned it on. Admittedly I don’t read a ton of Shakespeare because it’s just so much better spoken aloud. It’s meant to be spoken aloud with the rhythm and flow of the language, it just loses something as text.

      Like

Leave a Reply

